Visiting Seminar Series 2010-2011

  • Jeffrey G. Forbes, Laboratory of Muscle Biology NIAMS/NIH
    "Intrinsic Disorder and Protein Nanomechanics"
  • Malika Jeffries-EL, Iowa State University
    "Teaching Old Polymers New Tricks: Novel Conjugated Materials Based on Benzobisazoles"
  • Sandy Dasgupta, University of Texas-Arlington
    "Ionic Diodes, Solution Phase Charge Detectors and Other Tales of Mystery and Imagination"
  • Gabriela C. Weaver, Purdue University
    "Evaluation of Implementation Approaches of a Research-Based Laboratory Curriculum"
  • Professor Mu-Hyun Baik, Indiana University-Bloomington
    "Understanding Water Oxidation Catalysis: Insights from Computer Simulations"
  • Professor Matthias Rief, Technische Universitat Munchen, (2011 Zimmer Int'l Scholar)
    "Mechanics and Dynamics of Single Protein Molecules"
  • Professor Matthias Rief, Technische Universitat Munchen, (2011 Zimmer Int'l Scholar)
    "Single Molecule Force Spectroscopy in Protein Folding"
  • Professor James P. Stambuli, The Ohio State University
    "Development of Palladium and Calcium Catalysts for Chemical Reactions"
  • Eugene Smotkin, Northeastern University
    "Elucidating the Ionomer Electrified Metal Interface"
  • Professor Alexander Wei, Purdue University
    "Immutable Ligands for Microbial Detection and Capture"
  • Professor Jeffrey Skolnick, Georgia Institute of Technology
    "New Approaches to Protein Functional Inference and Ligand Screening with Applications to the Human Kinome"
  • Professor Kurt Wuthrich, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA
    "Current Trends in Structural Biology"
  • Professor Charles Weissmann, The Scripps Research Institute, Florida
    "A Tale from Two Cities" (Oesper Banquet Speaker)
  • Professor Kurt Wuthrich, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA
    "NMR with Proteins - from Hemoglobin to Structural Genomics" (Oesper Award Lecture)
  • Professor John Bushweller, University of Virginia
    "NMR Structural and Chemical Biology: Understanding and Inhibiting MLL Fusion Proteins in Leukemia" (Oesper Speaker)
  • Professor Mark Rance, University of Cincinnati
    "NMR Studies of Protein Side-Chain Dynamics" (Oesper Speaker)
  • Professor Arthur Pardi, University of Colorado
    "NMR and Single Molecule Techniques for Studying RNA Folding and RNA-protein Recognition" (Oesper Speaker)
  • Professor Charles Weissmann, The Scripps Research Institute, Florida
    "Darwinian Evolution of Prions" (Oesper Speaker)
  • Professor Werner Braun, University of Texas Medical Branch
    "Structural Biology of Allergens" (Oesper Speaker)
  • Professor Dinshaw Patel, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
    "Structural Biology of Small RNA-mediated Gene Regulation and Methylation-mediated Epigenetic Regulation" (Oesper Speaker)
  • Professor Gerhard Wagner, Harvard Medical School
    "Regulation of Cellular Homeostasis through Protein Interactions" (Oesper Speaker)
  • Professor Cynthia Burrows, University of Utah
    "What can guanine oxidation tell us about DNA sequencing, cancer, and the origin of life?"
  • Professor Nils Walter, University of Michigan
    "Scientists Watching Action Movies: Single Molecule Enzymology of Natural and Engineered RNA (DNA, Protein) Nanomachines"
  • Professor Eva Marie Harth, Vanderbilt University
    "Organic Nanoscopic Architectures for Targeted Drug Delivery and Imaging"
  • Professor Lawrence Pratt, Fisk University
    "Copper and Nickel Coupling Reactions"
  • Professor Davit Zargarian, University of Montreal
    "Pincer-type Complexes of Divalent and Trivalent Nickel: Redox Chemistry and Catalytic Reactions"
  • Professor Robert Jernigan, Iowa State University
    "Functional Motions of Proteins from Computations"
  • Professor Maria DeRosa, Carleton University
    "DNA Nanotechnology for 'Smart' Materials and Biosensing"
  • Professor Horia Petrache, IUPUI
    "Electrostatic and van der Waals Forces in Lipid Membranes"
  • Professor Anna Mapp, University of Michigan
    "Small and Large-Molecule Transcriptional Regulators"
  • Professor Christy L. Haynes, University of Minnesota
    "Electroanalytical Eavesdropping on Cellular Communication"