Visiting Seminar Series 2006-2007

  • Dr. Doug Heitkemper, FDA
    "FDA's Forensic Chemistry Center - Chemical Detectives in the Pet Food Crisis and Others" (Awards Day Seminar)
  • Professor Yan Zhao, Iowa State University
    "Learning from Nature: A Conformational Approach to Responsive Supramolecular Hosts, Catalysts, and Sensors"
  • Dr. Ryszard Lobinski, French National Council for Scientific Research
    "From Speciation to Metallomics: The Mass Spectrometry-driven Evolution of Concepts and Methods"
  • Professor Chad A. Mirkin, Northwestern University
    "Nanochemistry Driving Nanotechnology: From High Resolution Lithographic Methods to Powerful New Biodiagnostic Tools"
  • Dr. Petra Potschke, Leibniz Institute of Polymer Research, Dresden, Germany
    "Hybrid Systems of Expanded Graphite with Different Thermoplastic Polymers Prepared by Melt Mixing"
  • Professor Sizhu Wu, Beijing University of Chemical Technology, College of Materials Science & Engineering
    "Electrospinning of Nanofibers of Poly(Lactic Acid)/Hydroxyapatite/Carbon Nanotubes and Polyacryloinitrile/Carbon Nanotubes"
  • Professor Sherwin Singer, Ohio State University
    "Tackling the Problem of Hydrogen Bond Order and Disorder in the Phases of Ice and Water Clusters"
  • Professor Mark von Itzstein, Griffith University (Gold Coast Campus), Queensland, Australia
    "Pandemic Influenza - The Re-emergence of an Old Threat" (5th Zimmer International Scholar)
  • Professor Lawrence Pratt, Fisk University
    "Mixed Aggregates of Lithium Carbenoids"
  • Professor David Tierney, University of New Mexico
    "Integrated Paramagnetic Resonance of High-spin CO(II): Models to Maquettes to Metalloenzymes"
  • Dr. Suzanne Seleem, Central State University
    "Changing the Face of History"
  • Dr. Pratul K. Agarwal, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
    "Protein Vibrations Promote Enzyme Catalysis"
  • Dr. Hairong Guan, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Mechanistic Studies on Ruthenium and Iron Catalyzed Hydrogen Reactions" (Faculty Candidate for the Inorganic Chemistry Position)
  • Professor Jeff Gildersleeve, National Cancer Institute
    "Carbohydrate Microarrays for Basic Translational Cancer Research"
  • Professor Claudio Verani, Wayne State University
    "Asymmetry, Clusters, and Modules: New Synthetic Strategies for Metal-containing Soft Materials"
  • Professor Srini Iyengar, Indiana University
    Quantum/Classical Dynamics of Electrons and Nuclei: Three Pieces of a Larger Puzzle"
  • Professor Richard Gross, Polytechnic University
    "Enzyme-Catalyzed Polymer Synthesis and Modification Reactions"
  • Dunwei Wang, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
    "Scientific and Technological Opportunities of Ultra-high Density Nanowire Arrays" (Faculty Candidate for the Inorganic Chemistry Position)
  • Professor Maria Gomez, Mount Holyoke College
    "The Elusive Proton: Finding Conduction Pathways in Solid and Liquid Phases"
  • Professor Punit Boolchand, UC/Department of ECECS and Physics
    "Discovery of Intermediate Phases in Glassy Networks"
  • Professor Toni Kazic, University of Missouri, Columbia
    "Why bother with Bioinformatics?"
  • Christian Goldsmith, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    "The Development of Functional Lipoxygenase Mimics and the Application of Zinc Sensors in Single Synapse Imaging"
    (Faculty Candidate for the Inorganic Chemistry position)
  • Professor Hendrik Emons, European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Reference Materials and Measurements (IRMM) Geel, Belgium
    "The Chemical Kilogram-Fiction or Reality?"
  • Professor Martin Jarrold, Indiana University
    Melting and Freezing in Small Particles: How many atoms are needed to make liquid?"
  • John Magyer, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
    Electron Transfer and Protein Dynamics in Cytochrome c" (Faculty Candidate for the Inorganic Chemistry position)
  • Richard L. Brutchey, Ph.D., Institute for Collaborative Biotechnologies University of California-Santa Barbara
    "Bio-inspired Routes to Nanostructured Perovskite and Perovskite-like Materials" (Faculty Candidate for the Inorganic Chemistry position)
  • Richard N. Zare, Stanford University
    "Make it Count"
  • Dennis Jacobs, University of Notre Dame
    "The iLife of Professor Zare: Inquiry, Imagination, Insight and Ingenuity" (Oesper Banquet Speaker)
  • Saswati Datta, Proctor and Gamble, Miami Valley Innovation Center
    "Plasma Surface Modification-From Computers to Diapers" (Oesper Symposium Speaker)
  • Rebecca Whelan, Oberlin College
    "Development of Assays for Biomarkers of Ovarian Cancer" (Oesper Symposium Speaker)
  • Luis Colon, University of Buffalo-The State University of New York
    "Silica Hybrid Materials for Liquid Chromatography" (Oesper Symposium Speaker)
  • Jonathan Sweedler, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    "Understanding Neurochemistry Neuron by Neuron: New Measurement Technologies for Neuroscience Research" (Oesper Symposium Speaker)
  • Richard N. Zare, Stanford University
    "Adventures in Chemical Analysis" (OESPER AWARD LECTURE)
  • Professor Dragan Uskokovic, Institute of Technical Sciences/Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts, Belgrade, Serbia
    "Synthesis and Processing of Fine Particles"
  • Professor S. Mark Cybulski, Miami University, Ohio
    "Challenges and Difficulties in Theoretical Treatment of Intermolecular Interactions"