Faculty Honors & Awards '08-'09

Faculty Honors & Awards '08-'09

Bruce Ault, Chemistry
Awarded the University of Cincinnati's Distinguished Teaching Professor Award.

H. Scott Dumas, Mathematical Sciences
Awarded the University of Cincinnati's A.B. "Dolly" Cohen Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Bob Faaborg, Philosophy
Received the University of Cincinnati Faculty Senate University Service Award.

Steven Howe, Psychology
Received a career award for special contributions to public policy by Division 27 (Society for Community Research and Action) by the American Psychological Association.

Patrick Limbach, Chemistry
Named the 2009 Cincinnati Chemist of the Year by the American Chemical Society.

Mike Miller, Biological Sciences
Received the first annual Mike Fremont Lifetime Achievement Award by Rivers Unlimited.

Olivier Parent, Economics
Won the William H. Miernyk Research Excellence Medal from the Southern Regional Science Association for his paper "Space and Time Analysis of the Knowledge Production Function."

Kathy Rentz, English and Comparative Literature
Received the 2008 Outstanding Teaching Award by the Association for Business Communication. She also received an award for Outstanding Article in 2007 for an article in Journal of Business Communication.

Robert Richardson, Philosophy
Earned the University of Cincinnati Distinguished Research Professor Award.

Judith Trent, Communication
Received the Centennial Political Communication Scholar Award from the Eastern Communication Association.

Joel Warm, Psychology
Awarded the Franklin V. Taylor Award by Division 21 of the American Psychological Association.

Faculty Positions of Distinction '08-'09

John K. Alexander, History
Served as the sole U.S. historian on the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee, which helps decide designs on U.S. coins.

Bill Connick, Chemistry
Named one of nine Young Observers in the U.S. who attended the 45th International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) General Assembly.

Gail Fairhurst, Communication
Received a Fulbright Senior Specialists Scholarship to travel to Lund University.

William Heineman, Chemistry
Honored as one of the 162 members in inaugural class of fellows by the American Chemical Society.

Olivier Parent, Economics
Invited to serve on the editorial board of Papers in Regional Science.

Jenefer Robinson, Philosophy
Elected for a two-year term as president of the American Society for Aesthetics.