Research

Faculty in the Division of Statistics and Data Science engage in fundamental and multidisciplinary research to expand the scope of statistical methodology and its implementation in data intensive fields. The links below provide further information about the major research themes of our faculty. 

Division of Statistics and Data Science engage in fundamental and multidisciplinary research to expand the OOOO a few. Our faculty are advancing knowledge of this fields including:

  • Bayesian model selection in high-dimensional settings
  • Robust and objective Bayesian analyses
  • Bayesian categorical data analysis
  • Bayesian nonparametrics
  • Bayesian computing
  • Bayesian application to spatial and spatio-temporal datasets, survey data, biomedical research, and business data
Faculty
Name Title Email

Xuan Cao

Assistant Professor

xuan.cao@uc.edu

Emily Lei Kang

Associate Professor

emily.kang@uc.edu

Hang J. Kim

Assistant Professor

hang.kim@uc.edu

Bledar Alex Konomi

Assistant Professor

bledar.konomi@uc.edu

Dan Ralescu

Professor

dan.ralescu@uc.edu

Siva Sivaganesan

Professor

siva.sivaganesan@uc.edu

Seongho Song

Associate Professor

seongho.song@uc.edu

Xia Wang

Associate Professor

xia.wang@uc.edu

Spatial statistics and uncertainty quantification focus on solving inferential and computational challenges that often arise in analysis of high-dimensional dependent data, which are prevalent in environmental sciences. Our faculty are advancing knowledge of this fields including:

  • Methodology for spatial and spatio-temporal data
  • Hierarchical statistical modeling in environmental and climate services 
  • Big data problems in uncertainty quantification and spatial statistics
  • Uncertainty qualification for computer models 
  • Design problems in computer experiments
  • Applications in remote-sensing
  • Climate change assessments
  • Analysis of ecological data

 

Faculty
Name Title Email

Won Chang

Assistant Professor

won.chang@uc.edu

Emily Lei Kang

Associate Professor

emily.kang@uc.edu

Bledar Alex Konomi

Assistant Professor

bledar.konomi@uc.edu

Dan Ralescu

Professor

dan.ralescu@uc.edu

Siva Sivaganesan

Professor

siva.sivaganesan@uc.edu

Xia Wang

Associate Professor

xia.wang@uc.edu

Biological, medical, and health data present numerous challenges such as the prevalence of censored and missing observations, causal inference, and correlated longitudinal data structures, to name a few. Our faculty are advancing knowledge of biostatistics on multiple fronts including:

  • Survival analysis; lifetime data analysis with censoring methods
  • Statistical causal inference; causal mediational analyses; comparative effectiveness research
  • Clinical trials; PK/PD; epidemiology
  • Statistical genetics and genomics; bioinformatics
  • Multiple imputation for medical research
  • Statistical applications in neuroscience
Faculty
Name Title Email

Xuan Cao

Assistant Professor

xuan.cao@uc.edu

Bin Huang

Affiliate Professor

bin.huang@cchmc.org

Hang J. Kim

Assistant Professor

hang.kim@uc.edu

Siva Sivaganesan

Professor

siva.sivaganesan@uc.edu

Seongho Song

Associate Professor

seongho.song@uc.edu

Xia Wang

Associate Professor

xia.wang@uc.edu

Rong Zhou

Affiliate Professor

rong.zhou@uc.edu

TO BE ADDED. Our faculty are advancing knowledge of this fields including:

  • High-dimensional inference on graphical models
  • Machine learning methods for various fields of environmental science
  • Bayesian trees for non-parametric regression
  • Image analysis
Faculty
Name Title Email

Xuan Cao

Assistant Professor

xuan.cao@uc.edu

Won Chang

Assistant Professor

won.chang@uc.edu

Emily Lei Kang

Associate Professor

emily.kang@uc.edu