UC Journalism Hall of Fame Class of 2019

UC Journalism to induct Beryl Love and William Strunk Jr. into its Hall of Fame as the Class of 2019

HOF 2019

The University of Cincinnati Department of Journalism will induct Beryl Love and William Strunk Jr. into its Hall of Fame on April 5, 2019.

A Cincinnati native, Beryl Love is a 1989 A&S-Communication alumnus, and served as Editor-in-Chief of The News Record (UC’s independent student news media) during his time at UC. As part of a distinguished career within Gannett, Love returned to his hometown in 2017 to become Editor and Vice President of News for The Cincinnati Enquirer and the Ohio Regional Editor for the USA Today Network. Previously, he held various positions within Gannett, including Executive Editor for USA Today. Love was also Executive Editor for The Reno Gazette-Journal, and from 1998-2006 was at The Cincinnati Enquirer as News Editor, and then General Manager of the Magazine Division.

William Strunk Jr. (1869-1946) is an 1890 A&S graduate and author of the widely acclaimed compositional writing guide, The Elements of Style. Strunk earned a Ph.D. from Cornell University, where he taught English literature for over 45 years. After his death, one of Strunk’s most famous students, E. B. White (author of the novel, Charlotte’s Webb) produced subsequent editions of The Elements of Style, which became known colloquially as “Strunk & White.” Strunk also served as a literary consultant for MGM’s film production of Rome and Juliet (1936).

Induction into the UC Journalism Hall of Fame is a special honor reserved for UC alumni who have excelled in the profession of journalism and media, or individuals who have made a significant contribution to the study of journalism at UC. Previous inductees include Luke Feck, William J. Keating, John Molloy and Mary Linn White (2009); Walt Handelsman and Ginny Hunter (2010); Jim Knippenberg and Henry Segal (2011); Dennis Janson (2012); Jon Hughes (2013); Kathy Doane and Cliff Radel (2014); Ray Locker, Lew Moores, and Kira Lisa Warren (2015); Merrill Goozner (2016); Greg Hand and Mary George Meiners (2017); and Michael Perry and Kathy Y. Wilson (2018).

The 11th annual UC Journalism Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony will be held April 5, 2019 from 4:30-6:30 p.m. at the Taft Research Center in Edwards 1, Suite 1110 on the UC uptown campus.