UC Journalism Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Michael Perry and Kathy Y. Wilson are UC’s Journalism Hall of Fame Class of 2018

The University of Cincinnati Department of Journalism will induct Michael Perry and Kathy Y. Wilson as the newest members of UC’s Journalism Hall of Fame on March 26, 2018.

Michael Perry, a 1984 A&S-Communication alumnus, has a distinguished 30-year career in sports media, and professional communications. He was assistant managing sports editor for The Cincinnati Enquirer, Life & Magazines Editor for Enquirer Media, and managing editor for GoBearcats.com. Perry is also the author of two books about the UC Bearcats men’s basketball team, and another about Xavier University men’s basketball team. An adjunct instructor for UC Journalism, Perry teaches sports reporting and serves as the professional editorial adviser/consultant for The News Record, UC’s independent student news media. In 2012 Perry was Director of Marketing & Promotions for the World Choir Games, and is currently Vice President and Partner for Vehr Communications in Cincinnati.

Kathy Y. Wilson is a longtime adjunct instructor for UC Journalism where she teaches opinion editorial writing, and was twice named a Fellow at the University of Maryland’s Knight Center for Specialized Journalism. She is a featured opinion-editorial columnist for CityBeat, Cincinnati alt-weekly news media, a contributing writer for Cincinnati Magazine, and has won numerous awards from the Society of Professional Journalists, the Cleveland Press Club, the Associated Press, and was a finalist for a National Magazine Award. Wilson emerged as contributor for National Public Radio’s “All Things Considered” program, and her 2005 non-fiction book, “Your Negro Tour Guide: Truths in Black and White” took acclaim for its cultural and political commentary. In 2015 Wilson was named the inaugural Hamilton County Public Library’s Writer-in-Residence, and in 2016 she was awarded the Rosa F. and Samuel B. Sachs Fund Prize for her contribution to civic discourse in Cincinnati. An assemblage of her writing, personal collection of art, racist artifacts and other memorabilia is featured through January 28, 2018 at Cincinnati’s Weston Art Gallery under the title: “Sanctuary: Kathy Y. Wilson Living in a Colored Museum.”

Induction into the UC Journalism Hall of Fame is a special honor reserved for UC alumni who have excelled in the profession of journalism and media, or individuals who have made a significant contribution to the study of journalism at UC. Previous inductees include Luke Feck, William J. Keating, John Molloy and Mary Linn White (2009); Walt Handelsman and Ginny Hunter (2010); Jim Knippenberg and Henry Segal (2011); Dennis Janson (2012); Jon Hughes (2013); Kathy Doane and Cliff Radel (2014); Ray Locker, Lew Moores, and Kira Lisa Warren (2015); Merrill Goozner (2016); and Greg Hand and Mary George Meiners (2017).

The 10th annual UC Journalism Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony will be held March 26, 2018 from 4:30-6:30 p.m. at the Taft Research Center in Edwards 1, Suite 1110 on the UC campus.