Student Achievements

Alice M. House Speech Contest Winners

  • First Place:  Mariam Elgafy
  • Second Place: Luke Manser
  • Third Place: Ryan Taulbee
  • Fourth Place: William Houston
  • Fifth Place: Saketh Mylavarapu
  • Sixth Place: Destiny Bomar
  • Seventh Place: Elliot Peters-Bambic


Judith S. Trent Graduate Research Award

  • Recognition of Excellence
    • Carrie Farrell
    • Chelsea Guest
    • Kelly Maloney
  • Recognition of Outstanding Performance
    • Diana Casteel
    • Joe Deye
    • Staci Jones
    • Katelyn Ritchie
    • Megan Stephenson
    • Sarah Willis

Excellence in Graduate Student Teaching Award

  • Joe Deye
  • Chelsea Guest

Graduate Student Association Professional Development Award

  • Kelly Maloney

Teresa S. Sabourin Award for Graduate Student Leadership & Service

  • Kelly Maloney

Intern Site of the Year

  • American Red Cross

Intern of the Year

  • Alyssa West

Co-op Employer of the Year

  • 84.51

Co-op Student of the Year

  • Taylor Valentino

Lambda Pi Eta | Distinguished Leadership Award

  • Robyn Fettman
  • Shannon Costin
  • Ellis Johnstone


2018 Scholarship Recipients

  • The Communication Alumni Scholarship
    • Kelsey Paul
    • Margaret Thiemann
  • Lucille Pederson Scholarship  
    • Ethan Bastian
    • Candace Wade  
  • Frank J. Jones Scholarship
    •  Dallas Butler
  • Warren & Elaine Lashley Scholarship
    • Santiago Martinez
  • Rudolph & Kathleen Verderber Challenge Scholarship
    • Santiago Martinez
  • Lisa H. Newman Scholarship
    • Taylor Frommeyer


Outstanding Undergraduate Award

  • Nominees:
    • Jessica Brawand
    • Shannon Costin
    • Robyn Fettman
    • Abby Fordham
    • Dominique Francisco
    • Bretten Hill
    • Carson Hoover
    • Greg Miller
    • Taylor Valentino
  • Award Winner: Robyn Fettman

Distinguished Friend of Communication Award

  • Alyssa Wallen

Outstanding Alumni Award

  • Steve Rosfeld



Department of Communication Faculty Recognitions

  • Gail Fairhurst and Nancy Jennings inducted as new Fellows of the Graduate School
  • Ron Jackson served as Vice President of the National Communication Association, planning the 2017 NCA Convention
  • Ron Jackson and LisaMarie Luccioni named Darwin T. Turner Commended Professors
  • Stephen Haas received 2017-2018 NCA Article of the Year Award in GLBTQ Studies Division