## The 2001 Ralph and Helen Oesper Awardee Honoring

## Dr. Harry B. Gray

California Institute of Technology



Harry B. Gray is Arnold O. Beckman Professor of Chemistry and Director of the Beckman Institute at the California Institute of Technology. Gray began his work in inorganic chemistry at Northwestern University, where he earned a Ph.D. in 1960. After a postdoctoral year at the University of Copenhagen, he joined the chemistry faculty at Columbia University, where his main interests centered on the electronic structures and reactions of inorganic complexes. Starting in 1966, he built a group in bioinorganic chemistry at Caltech, where much of his

career has been aimed at understanding electron transfer in proteins. For his contributions to chemistry, which include over 600 papers and 17 books, he has received the National Medal of Science from President Ronald Reagan (1986); the Pauling Medal (1986); the Linderstrom-Lang Prize (Copenhagen, 1991); the Gibbs Medal (1994); the Chandler Medal (1999); the Harvey Prize (Haifa, 2000); six national awards from the American Chemical Society, including the Priestley Medal (1991); and twelve honorary doctorates. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences; the American Philosophical Society; a foreign member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters; the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences; the Royal Society of Great Britain; and an honorary member of the Italian Chemical Society. He was California Scientist of the Year in 1988. During 1997-98, he was the George Eastman Professor at the University of Oxford.