Judaic Studies

Tenure-Track Faculty

Finkelstein, Ari

Assistant Professor, Judaic Studies

3510 French Hall

513-556-6546

ari.finkelstein@uc.edu

Professor Finkelstein is a historian of Jews and Judaism in the Greco-Roman world. His main research focuses on the use and function of Jews and Judaism in the works of Christians and pagans in Late Antiquity. His current book project, provisionally titled “Emperor Julian and the Jews: the Use of Jews in the Making of a Pagan Empire”, based on his doctoral dissertation, examines how Emperor Julian (361-363) triangulates Jews with Christians and pagans in order to produce a pagan empire and to delegitimize Christianity. He has also written on Pseudo-Philo and Ezekiel the Tragedian. Other academic interests include Greco-Roman history, Greco-Roman thought and law, early Christianity, biblical reception, post-colonial studies, and semiotics.  He also has two law degrees from McGill University.

Kraus, Matthew A

Undergraduate Adviser Judaic Studies, Director of Hebrew Program, Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies

3508 French Hall

513-556-2298

matthew.kraus@uc.edu

Professor Kraus studies the history of biblical interpretation and Judaism in the Greek and Roman world. Most recently, he is the author of Jewish, Christian, and Classical Exegetical Traditions in Jerome’s Translaiton of the Book of Exodus:  Translation Technique and the Vulgate (Brill, forthcoming 2017), "Rabbinic Traditions in Jerome’s Translation of the Book of Numbers,” Journal of Biblical Literature (forthcoming), and "Wisdom of Solomon" for the Jewish Annotated Apocrypha (Oxford University Press).  Editor of How Should Rabbinic Literature Be Read in the Modern World (2006 Gorgias Press), he has also published on Philo, the Gospel of John, and on the Old Latin version of the Bible. His courses include Women and the Bible, The Dead Sea Scrolls, History of Biblical Interpretation, Introduction to Judasim, Chanukah Through the Ages and Modern Hebrew.

Naveh, Gila O Safran

Professor, Jewish Foundation of Cincinnati Chair, Judaic Studies Department Head

3428B French Hall

513-556-2300

gila.safran-naveh@uc.edu

Professor Gila Safran-Naveh received her Ph.D. in Comparative Literature from the University of California at San Diego, where she received a highly interdisciplinary formation, and one of her undergraduate degrees from The Hebrew University, in Jerusalem, Israel. She is now Department Head and the Jewish Foundation of Cincinnati Chair in Judaic Studies, at University of Cincinnati. Her primary scholarly interests are the Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Critical Theory, Freud and Judaism, Kafka, and Gender and Judaism. 

BOOKS

Professor Safran-Naveh is author of a pivotal study on parables entitled Biblical Parables and Their Modern Recreations: from Apples of Gold in Silver Settings to Imperial Messages (2000) which was nominated for the 2001 National Jewish Book Award in the scholarly division.
She has co-edited a comprehensive volume in linguistic studies entitled The Formal Complexity of Natural Language (1987).
Presently, she is working on a book-length manuscript entitled Unpacking the Heart with Words: Women Survivors of the Holocaust Writing and Healing. This work investigates problems in memory, writing, healing, and women's unique experience in the Holocaust. 
Professor Safran Naveh has also completed a book of poetry entitled Another Door: A Woman's Inquisitions and is preparing it for press.

Professor Safran-Naveh has published book chapters (in Semiotics, Jewish Literary Studies, Film and Cultural Studies) and numerous scholarly articles and book reviews. She lectures nationally and internationally and serves on national and international committees promoting human rights and the advancement of women.
Professor Safran Naveh has organized and brought to Cincinnati two International Conferences of Semiotic Society of America (in 1988 and in 2010). Among her most popular courses are Literature of the Holocaust, Jewish/Women's Humor, Freud and Judaism, Jews in Film, American Jewish Fiction, and Salon Culture. For her outstanding teaching, Professor Safran Naveh was awarded the University A. B. Dolly Cohen Award for Excellence in Teaching (1996), the Edith Alexander Award for Outstanding Teaching (2000), and the prestigious George C. Barbour Award (2006). In 2010, she was elected Fellow of the Academy for Teaching and Learning. The recipient of numerous research and travel grants, Professor Safran-Naveh was awarded the prestigious Skirball Fellowship in Hebrew and Judaica, at the Oxford Center for Postgraduate Jewish Studies (1997). She is an Associate Fellow of the Oxford Center and serves on the board of several scholarly journals. Since 2010, Professor Safran Naveh spearheaded the launching of the Center for Jewish Cultures and Ideas, transformed Judaic Studies into a full-fledged Taft Department, and created a Joint UC- HUC Graduate Program in Judaic Studies, which is housed in the Judaic Studies Department. Presently, in addition to her regular duties, Professor Safran Naveh serves on the boards of the Cincinnati Psychoanalytic Institute and the Rockwern Academy. 

Perry, Craig A.

Assistant Professor, Judaic Studies Department

3512 French Hall

513-556-2139

craig.perry@uc.edu

Prof. Perry is a social historian of the medieval Near East and earned his PhD at Emory University in 2014. 

His current book project is a history of domestic slavery and the slave trade based on documents from the Geniza and other Arabic sources. He is also co-editor of volume 2 of The Cambridge World History of Slavery on the medieval period.

Raucher, Michal

Assistant Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

3420 French Hall

513-556-5812

michal.raucher@uc.edu

Professor Raucher earned her PhD in Religious Studies at Northwestern University, studying religion, anthropology, ethics and gender studies.  Her current research considers the reproductive ethics of Haredi (ultra-Orthodox) Jewish women in Israel, where she conducted two years of ethnographic research. Professor Raucher has written on sexuality and gender in Judaism, religion and bioethics, and abortion legislation in Israel. She has received degrees from the Jewish Theological Seminary, Columbia University and the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Raucher was selected to serve as a Fellow for the Jewish Theological Seminary for 2015-2017, during which time she is teaching and consulting on Jewish ethics.

Adjunct Faculty

Epstein, Ingrid Moen

Visiting Assistant Professor

3513 French Hall

513-556-2297

ingrid.epstein@uc.edu

Fisher, Arna

Instructor - Adj

3513 French Hall

513-556-2297

arna.fisher@uc.edu

Griffith, Dana Gregory

Annual Adjunct Assistant Professor

3513 French Hall

513-556-6612

dana.griffith@uc.edu

"Dr. G" has a Ph.D. in English and Comparative Literature from UC. He teaches "Understanding Religious Intolerance," "Suffering and Death," "Buddhism: History and Thought," "Intro. to the Study of Religions," and Yoga in its Hindu Matrix" in the Religious Studies Certificate Program, the Departments of Judaic Studies, English, and Asian Studies. His main interests are sacred and religious literature, Southeast Asian Religions, Hinduism and Buddhism, religious tolerance and intolerance, and Western/American manifestations of Hindu Yoga and Buddhism. In addition to his academic education, he is a practicing Buddhist and has received teachings from Zen Master Keido Fukushima Roshi, The Fourteenth Dalai Lama, Geshe Kuten Lama, Geshe Kunchok, Venenrable Jamyang Lama, and Zasep Tulku Rinpoche. 

Krome, Frederic James

Professor

272L CC Snyder Addition

513-732-5280

fred.krome@uc.edu

Professor Krome received his Ph.D. from the University of Cincinnati in 1992. He taught at Northern Kentucky University prior to joining the staff at the Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives in 1998. He has taught classes at UC since 1992.

Porte, Michael S

Professor Emeritus

3513 French Hall

513-556-3493

michael.porte@uc.edu

Michael S. Porte specializes in communication, media, and film studies.  He has consulted with the U.S. Department of Labor, the Centers for Disease Control, GE, Proctor and Gamble, and Loews.  He currently teaches The Jew in American Film, Cinema Divinite:  Religion and the Bible in Film, Tai Chi, and Meditation.

Schaffer, Shannon E

Assistant Professor

3513 French Hall

513-556-2163

shannon.schaffer@uc.edu

Specializes in the religions of the Ancient Near East and Ancient Israel and teaches courses on the Hebrew Bible, Archaeology of the Near East and Jewish Studies.

Affiliate Faculty

Cahn, Steven J.

Associate Professor of Music Theory

4225G Emery Hall

513-556-7820

steven.cahn@uc.edu

Crane, Cynthia A.

Assoc Professor

134 BA WALT

513-745-5799

cynthia.crane@uc.edu

Fenichel, Henry

Emeritus Faculty

219 Geology-Physics Building

513-936-8164

henry.fenichel@uc.edu

Frierson, Elizabeth B.

Associate Professor

340A McMicken Hall

513-556-0919

elizabeth.frierson@uc.edu

Gibson, Michelle

Professor Emerita

3322 French Hall

513-541-6636

michelle.gibson@uc.edu

Glaser, Jennifer

Assistant Professor

248C McMicken Hall

513-556-3905

jennifer.glaser@uc.edu

Hartman, Janine C

Professor of History,

717D Old Chemistry Building

513-556-1596

janine.hartman@uc.edu

Kalman, Jason

Old Chemistry Building

513-556-2297

Katz, Ethan

Assistant Professor

McMicken Hall

513-556-2140

ethan.katz@uc.edu

Lause, Mark A.

Professor

322 McMicken Hall

513-556-1520

mark.lause@uc.edu

Meem, Deborah T.

Professor of WGSS

3310 French Hall

513-556-1793

deborah.meem@uc.edu

Opengart, Bea C

Educator Assistant Professor

50C McMicken Hall

513-556-3717

bea.opengart@uc.edu

Parr, Adrian

Professor and Director of The Charles Phelps Taft Research Center; Department of Political Science & School of Architecture and Interior Design; UNESCO Water Chair (PhD, Monash University)

1100C EDWARDS 1 Edwards Center

513-556-0675

parran@uc.edu

Rechnitzer, Haim Otto

Associate Professor of Jewish Thought

Old Chemistry Building

513-556-2297

Selya, Roger M

Professor Emeritus

401 Braunstein Hall

513-556-3421

roger.selya@uc.edu

Sorrels, Katherine

Assistant Professor of History
Affiliate Faculty, Judaic Studies

301B McMicken Hall

513-556-3024

katherine.sorrels@uc.edu

Twomey, Jay

Department Head, Associate Professor

248 McMicken Hall

513-556-5924

jay.twomey@uc.edu

Weissman, Gary

Assistant Professor

350F McMicken Hall

513-556-3206

gary.weissman@uc.edu

Zalar, Jeffrey

Assistant Professor; Ruth J. & Robert A. Conway Endowed Chair of Catholic Studies

McMicken Hall

513-556-2220

jeffrey.zalar@uc.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Bowman, Steven B.

Professor Emeritus

3405 French Hall

513-556-2297

steven.bowman@uc.edu

Staff

Fist, Sandra L.

Financial Administrator

3428D French Hall

513-556-6657

sandy.fist@uc.edu

Lane, Wendy Carolyn

Executive Staff Assistant (NE)

3428 French Hall

513-556-4109

wendy.lane@uc.edu

Mengon, Elle

Business Administrator Sr

640B University Pavilion

513-556-5247

elle.mengon@uc.edu

Educator Faculty

Brolley, John David

Instructor-Educator; Director of Undergraduate Studies

3506 French Hall

513-556-6669

john.brolley@uc.edu

John Brolley is an educator-instructor in the Department of Judaic Studies who specializes in Bible, demonology, creation myth, and theories of religion. He earned his B.A. in Music from Connecticut College, his M.Div. from Emory University, and his M.Phil. in Hebrew and Cognate Studies from Hebrew Union College. He has been teaching at UC since January of 1998.