McMicken College of Arts & SciencesMcMicken College of Arts & SciencesUniversity of Cincinnati

McMicken College of Arts & Sciences

English and Comparative Literature

English and Comparative Literature

George Elliston Poetry Fund

The George Elliston Poetry Fund has fostered the development of promising young poets and honored the achievement of established poets since 1951. Each year, through the Poet-in-Residence Program, a distinguished poet comes to campus to give public lectures and readings and conduct poetry seminars and workshops. The Elliston Fund also supports a lecture series that has recently brought such speakers as Nobel laureate Czeslaw Milosz, Adrienne Rich, Seamus Heaney, Derek Walcott, and Margaret Atwood to campus.

One of the best collections of contemporary poetry in the country—over 10,000 books, magazines, records, and tapes relating to 20th century poetry—is now housed in the Elliston Poetry Room, located in the Langsam Library. Students and faculty interested in modern poetry can also take advantage of reading space and listening facilities there, as well as frequent workshops and student poetry readings. An online digital audio archive of poetry readings and lectures recorded in the Elliston Poetry Room is currently being developed. Within the Department of English, the Elliston Fellowship supports the studies of outstanding doctoral students in the area of poetry.

C K Williams: 2013-2014 Elliston Poet-in-Residence

C. K. Williams,

2013-2014 Elliston Poet-in-Residence

C. K. Williams is the author of eleven books of poetry, including Writers Writing Dying (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2012); Wait (2010); and Collected Poems (FSG, 2007). The Singing won the National Book Award in 2003; and his previous book, Repair, was awarded the 2000 Pulitzer Prize and the Los Angeles Times Book Award. His collection Flesh and Blood received the National Book Critics Circle Award. Williams has also published a memoir, Misgivings: My Mother, My Father, Myself, in 2000, and has published translations of Sophocles’ Women of Trachis, Euripides’ Bacchae, and poems of Francis Ponge, among others. A prose book entitled Williams, On Whitman, was released in 2010 from Princeton University Press. He is also the author of two books of essays: Poetry and Consciousness (1998) and In Time (University of Chicago Press, 2012). Williams was awarded the Twentieth Annual Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, an honor given to an American poet in recognition of extraordinary accomplishment. Among his honors are awards in literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the PEN/Voelcker Career Achievement Award, and fellowships from the Lila Wallace Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the National Endowment of the Arts. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2003, and teaches in the Writing Program at Princeton University.

Past Elliston Poets-in-Residence

1951-52 Robert P. Tristram Coffin 1982-83 Thom Gunn
1952-53 John Berryman 1983-84 Jon Silkin
1953-54 Stephen Spender 1984-85 Jean Valentine
1954-55 Robert Lowell 1985-86 Richard Howard
1955-56 Robert Frost 1986-87 Marge Piercy
1956-57 Peter Viereck 1987-88 Mary Oliver
1957-58 John Betjeman 1988-89 Marilyn Hacker
1958-59 Randall Jarrell 1989-90 Alfred Corn
1959-60 Karl Shapiro 1990-91 Jane Flanders
1960-61 David Daiches 1991-92 John Haines
1961-62 Richard Eberhart 1992-93 Heather McHugh
1962-63 John Press 1993-94 Marilyn Nelson Waniek
1963-64 Donald Davie 1994-95 David Lehman
1964-65 Daniel Hoffman 1995-96 Dave Smith
1965-66 Denis Donoghue 1996-97 Ellen Bryant Voigt
1966-67 Donald Hall 1997-98 Jay Wright
1967-68 Donald Justice 1998-99 Wyatt Prunty
1968-69 David Wagoner 1999-00 Jane Hirshfield
1969-70 John Hollander 2000-01 Rodney Jones
1970-71 John Wain 2001-02 Henry Taylor
1971-72 Louis Simpson 2002-03 Linda Gregerson
1972-73 Robert Wallace  2003-04 C.D. Wright
1973-74 Denise Levertov  2004-05 Carl Dennis
1974-75 Wendell Berry 2005-06 Molly Peacock
1975-76 William Stafford 2006-07 David St. John
1976-77 Gary Snyder 2007-08 John Koethe
1977-78 Philip Levine 2008-09 Lynn Emanuel
1978-79 Louise Glück 2009-10 Alice Fulton
1979-80 John Ashbery 2010-11 Albert Goldbarth
1980-81 Michael Harper 2011-12 Terrance Hayes
1981-82 Carolyn Kizer 2012-13 Claudia Emerson