2016 Oesper Symposium Schedule Friday, October 28, 2016, Russell C. Myers Alumni Center (on UC campus)

9:00-9:10 a.m. Anna Gudmundsdottir, Head, Dept. of Chemistry
Welcome and Introductory Remarks

Session Chair: Hairong Guan

9:15-10:00 a.m. Alex Miller, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
"Cation-Responsive Pincer-Crown Ether Catalysts"

Break (10:00-10:15 a.m.)

Session Chair: Michael Baldwin

10:15-11:00 a.m.

Sylviane Sabo-Etienne, Universite de Toulouse, France
"From Brookhart's Interactions to Sigma Complexes.  Mechanistic Investigation in Catalysis"
11:00-11:45 a.m. Alan Goldman, Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey
"Hydrocarbon Functionalization by Iridium Complexes. Oxidation States High and Low"

Break for lunch (11:50-1:00 p.m.)

850 Lindner - Faculty Club
Registration is Required (Space is limited)

Session Chair: Stephanie Urbin

1:15-2:00 p.m. Karen Goldberg, University of Washington
"Catalysis, Mechanistic Understanding and Collaboration as Tools to Sustainable Production of Chemicals and Fuels"
2:00-2:45 p.m. Brooke Small, Chevron Phillips Chemical Company
"Pyridine-bis(imine) and Related Catalysts for Olefin Polymerization and Oligomerization"

Break (2:45-3:00 p.m)

Session Chair: Bill Connick

3:00 - 3:45 p.m. Bill Jones, University of Rochester
"Heterolytic C-H and N-H/O-H Activation by First Row Transition Metal Complexes"

3:55 - 4:00
Introduction of Oesper Awardee: Allan Pinhas
4:00 - 5:00 p.m. Maurice Brookhart, University of Houston/University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
"The Development of Late Metal Catalysts for Olefin Polymerizations"
5:30-7 p.m. Poster Session & Reception (see Call for Submissions)
Nippert Stadium (West Pavillion, 3rd Floor)
7-8 p.m. ACS Banquet (Reservations are required)
Nippert Stadium (West Pavillion, 3rd Floor)
8 p.m. Award Presentation, Announcements & After-dinner Speaker
Joe Templeton, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
"Careening Through a Career in Catalysis: Maurice Brookhart"