Faculty

Tenure-Track Faculty

Benoit, Joshua B

Assistant Professor

711D Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9714

joshua.benoit@uc.edu

Insect stress tolerance, hormonal regulation of metabolism, reproductive physiology, molecular physiology, transcriptomics, insect-microbe interactions and vector biology

Buchholz, Daniel R.

Associate Professor

711A Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9725

daniel.buchholz@uc.edu

Research Topics: Role of hormones in development and evolution, frog metamorphosis, comparative endocrinology

Buffam, Ishi D

Associate Professor

731H Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9745

ishi.buffam@uc.edu

Aquatic Ecosystem and Landscape Ecology; Hydrology and biogeochemical cycling in boreal and northern watersheds; Climate change and aquatic ecosystem carbon cycling; Urban aquatic ecosystems; Urban green spaces; Environmental Change and Biological Resilience (ECBR)

Buschbeck, Elke K.

Professor

800Q Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9747

elke.buschbeck@uc.edu

SBBE, Evolution and development of arthropod visual systems: Neuroethology, insect neurobiology, physiology, optics, behavior, molecular biology, evolution

Culley, Theresa

Professor of Biological Sciences,
Interim Director,
Office of Nationally Competitive Awards

703 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9705

theresa.culley@uc.edu

Plant population biology and genetics, including ecogenomics; speciation in plants, including integrative taxonomy in the plant genus Camassia; evolution of breeding systems, especially cleistogamy in violets and dioecy in Hawaiian taxa; ecological and genetic effects of habitat fragmentation; ecophysiological ecology; evolution of invasiveness; airbourne pollution effects on plants.

DeBry, Ronald W.

Associate Professor
Graduate Director

711I Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9743

ronald.debry@uc.edu

ECBR, Molecular evolution; experimental evolution; forensic entomology; phylogeny; systematics; evolution of mammals; DNA sequence analysis; rodent systematics; dipteran systematics

Griff, Edwin R

Associate Professor
Undergraduate Director

721A Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9739

edwin.griff@uc.edu

Neurobiology and electrophysiology of the vertebrate olfactory bulb; analysis of mitral cell responses; the role of centrifugal inputs to the bulb; olfactory transduction; anatomy and physiology educational research; electrophysiology of the vertebrate retina; interactions between photoreceptors and the retinal pigment epithelium

Grogan, Dennis W.

Professor

820H Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9748

dennis.grogan@uc.edu

ECBR, Genetics and molecular biology of hyperthermophiles; DNA damage and repair in Sulfolobus; mutation and genetic exchange in geothermal environments.

Gross, Joshua B

Associate Professor

711B Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9708

joshua.gross@uc.edu

ECBR, SBBE, Evolution and development of vertebrates; Evolutionary genetics of natural populations; Cave biology; Genetic basis for phenotypic changes; Mexican cave tetra, Astyanax mexicanus

Guerra, Patrick Anthony

Assistant Professor

820B Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9717

patrick.guerra@uc.edu

SBBE; sensory ecology; orientation and navigation mechanisms; animal architecture; animal movement patterns and life history traits; insect flight; cocoon construction; circadian biology; biomimetics

Jayne, Bruce C

Professor, Assistant Dept. Head

851T Rieveschl Hall

513-556-7012

bruce.jayne@uc.edu

ECBR, SBBE, Functional morphology; evolution of behavior, structure and function; neuromuscular basis of the locomotion of ectothermic vertebrates; herpetology; natural history and ecology of reptiles

Karp, Richard

Academic Director, Professor

851J-C Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9727

richard.karp@uc.edu

Immunology; evolution of the adaptive immune response, cellular and humoral immune responses in insects; allergic asthma induced by cockroach antigens

Kinkle, Brian

Professor

603B Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9756

brian.kinkle@uc.edu

Microbial ecology: xenobiotic biodegradation, microbe-heavy metal interactions, rhizosphere microbiology, groundwater microbiology, bacterial population genetics

Layne, John E.

Assistant Professor

800O Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9718

john.layne@uc.edu

SBBE, Behavioral neurobiology and sensory ecology; vision in natural habitats; control systems in visual guidance; animal orientation and navigation

Lentz, David L

Professor
Executive Director,
UC Center for Field Studies

731 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9733

david.lentz@uc.edu

ECBR, Historical ecology, field botany, plant domestication, population genetics and paleoethnobotany of North America, Central Asia and the Neotropics

Matter, Stephen F.

Associate Professor

731I Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9768

stephen.matter@uc.edu

ECBR, Ecology; Population Ecology; Metapopulation Dynamics Dispersal Behavior; Community Patterns and Dynamics; Insect Plant Interactions; Modelling

Morehouse, Nathan

Assistant Professor

711H Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9757

nathan.morehouse@uc.edu

SBBE, visual and behavioral ecology of butterflies and jumping spiders, coevolutionary dynamics of reproductive traits (e.g., male and female reproductive proteins; male coloration and female color vision), nutritional ecology, life history evolution, sexual selection theory, art-science collaborations

Petren, Kenneth

Professor, Dean of A&S

155B McMicken Hall

513-556-5858

ken.petren@uc.edu

ECBR, Evolutionary ecology: Landscape genomics, migration, speciaiton, adaptation, invasive species, behavior, island systems, "ancient" DNA, vertebrates, Darwin's finches and lizards.

Polak, Michal

Professor

820A Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9736

michal.polak@uc.edu

SBBE, Behavior, Sexual Selection; Sperm Competition; Insect Host-Parasite Biology; Evolutionary Ecology

Rollmann, Stephanie M.

Associate Professor

800D Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9729

stephanie.rollmann@uc.edu

ECBR, SBBE, Behavioral genetics and genomics; Chemosensory behavior; Olfaction; Evolutionary biology

Tepe, Eric J

Assistant Professor
Curator of the Herbarium

703B Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9784

eric.tepe@uc.edu

 

Plant systematics, including taxonomy, phylogenetics, biogeography, and diversification of “giant genera” – those with over 1000 species – including Piper (Piperaceae) and Solanum (Solanaceae).  Evolution of ant-plant associations.  Visit my webpage for more details.  Click here for the CINC herbarium webpage.

Uetz, George W

Professor, Department Head, Department of Biological Sciences

851f Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

george.uetz@uc.edu

ECBR, SBBE, Behavioral ecology, arachnology: multi-modal communication and sexual selection in wolf spiders; social behavior in colonial web-building spiders.

Vanderelst, Dieter

Assistant Professor, Psychology-Biology-Mechanical Engineering-Electrical Engineering (jointly appointed)

45150Q EDWARDS 1 Edwards Center

513-556-4058

dieter.vanderelst@uc.edu

SBBE, Sensory ecology, models of bat echolocation and flight control, robotic and computational models of animal behaviour and perception. Models of human cognition.

Educator Faculty

Conover, Denis G.

Educator-Professor

6415 French Hall

513-556-0716

denis.conover@uc.edu

Research interests include Plant Ecology, Ecological Restoration, and Invasive Species. Courses taught in 2016 included: Plant Physiology, Flowering Plant Classification, Introductory Biology 1 and 2, Plants and People, Wildflowers and Trees of Ohio, Field Botany, and a Capstone/Service Learning course dealing with invasive species.

Konishi, Takuya

Asst Professor - Educator Prov

851R Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9726

takuya.konishi@uc.edu

Vertebrate paleontology with research interests including evolution of fossil marine reptiles mosasaurs, marine trophic structures across North America during the Cretaceous inclusive of the Arctic Circle, and comparative analysis on morphofunctional traits among swimming tetrapods past and present. My research website here.

Maurer, Eric Franklin

Assistant Professor Educator

1409 Crosley Tower

513-556-9706

eric.maurer@uc.edu

Evolutionary & Aquatic Ecology: Patterns of distribution and diversity; Evolution of life history, morphology, behavior; Dynamics of temperate and arctic lakes and streams

Mosley, LaSharon

Asst Professor - Educator

613D Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9760

lasharon.mosley@uc.edu

Nodzak, Paul

Educator Assistant Professor

6418 French Hall

513-556-9754

paul.nodzak@uc.edu

I am a Family Physician who now teaches full-time as an assistant professor in the Department of Biology.  My interests include Anatomy and Physiology bringing my 22 years of clinical experience to students answering why they are learning all this information by presenting real clinical and practical applications.

Stowasser, Annette

Assistant Professor Educator

851 JD Rieveschl Hall

513-556-2837

annette.stowasser@uc.edu

Visual systems, Image Formation, Physiology

Uhl, Juli

Asst Professor - Educator

731A Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9787

juli.uhl@uc.edu

I am trained as a molecular geneticist and developmental biologist, and teach several courses in this field, spanning from upper level majors classes to introductory non-majors classes. Currently, these clasees include Genetics (Biol 2083), Developmental Biology (Biol 4052), Biotechniques (Biol 4091c), and Genetics and Society (Biol 1005).
In classes, I incorporate recent research-backed methods in teaching and learning, which include group work and active learning. Class periods are largely spent with students working in groups to solve problems and analyze recent data from real research studies. 

Vilinsky, Ilya

Associate Professor, Educator

613B Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9749

ilya.vilinsky@uc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Castaneda, Linda

Instructor - Adj

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-475-6176

linda.castaneda@uc.edu

Converse, Richard L.

Instructor - Adj Ann

BA WALT

513-335-1150

richard.converse@uc.edu

Cook, Tiffany

Associate Professor, Divisions of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Developmental Biology email: tiffany.cook@cchmc.org

TCHRF Childrens Hospital Bldg R

513-636-6991

tiffany.cook@cchmc.org

Molecular basis of eye development; retinal degenerative diseases; photoreceptor biology; cell-specific transcriptional regulatory mechanisms; evolutionary conservation of retina and lens formation between vertebrates and invertebrates; Drosophila genetics

Dame, Elizabeth A.

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

Darling, John A.

Asst Professor - Visiting Adj

Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

john.darling@uc.edu

Estill, James

Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

Feist, Douglas B

Adjunct Instructor

Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

douglas.feist@uc.edu

Courses: At the Zoo Diversity; At the Zoo Behavior; At the Zoo Ecology

Hauber, David J.

Asst Professor - Adj

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

david.hauber@uc.edu

Retired Supervisor, Northern Laboratory Branch, Kentucky State Police
Analytical Chemist, Forensic Biologist, Microscopist
Interests:  Molecular Evolution, Evolution and the History of Life
Currently teaching Anatomy & Physiology Labs part-time for fun & a little profit

Keely, Scott

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

Lazorchak, James

Assoc Professor - Adj

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

james.lazorchak@uc.edu

Lessnau, Robert

Instructor - Adj

513-556-9700

robert.lessnau@uc.edu

Pence, Valerie C

Adjunct Professor, Center for Conservation and Research of Endangered Wildlife, Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garden

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

valerie.pence@uc.edu

Riestenberg, Mary M

Visiting Scholar

513-556-9700

mary.riestenberg@uc.edu

Roth, Terri Lynn

Adjunct Professor
Center for Conservation and Research of Endangered Wildlife
Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garden

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

terri.roth@uc.edu

Roy, Allison

Asst Professor - Visiting Adj

Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

allison.roy@uc.edu

Scheifele, Peter M. Skip'

Associate Professor

345A French East

513-558-8519

scheifpr@ucmail.uc.edu

Animal bioacoustics, Animal auditory & vocal mechanisms in canines, equines and marine mammals, Post-Traumatic Stress Syndrome in military working dogs, tactical K9 audiology, military SME in K9 audiology & bioacoustics

Schnell, Phillip O.

Adjunct Instructor

620 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-1646

Courses: Freshman Biology and Biology Laboratory

Soukup, Victor Gerald

Manager, Herbarium

1600 Crosley Tower

513-556-8190

victor.soukup@uc.edu

Stacey, Julie Marie

Academic Administrator I

622 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9709

julie.stacey@uc.edu

Oversees budgets, ordering, and setup of microbiology, sophomore, and upper level experimental laboratories

Swanson, William F

Adjunct Professor
Center for Conservation and Research of Endangered Wildlife
Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garden

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

william.swanson@uc.edu

Trainor, Anne

Asst Professor - Visiting Adj

820G Rieveschl Hall

919-619-4678

anne.trainor@uc.edu

Urbina, Julio A

Professor - Adj

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

julio.urbina@uc.edu

Villegas, Eric

Asst Professor - Visiting Adj

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-569-7017

eric.villegas@uc.edu

Wiedermann, Magdalena M.

Adjunct Assistance Professor-Research

614 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

magdalena.wiedermann@uc.edu

Plant ecology; global change (enhanced nitrogen, climate change, invasive non-native species); plant-soil interactions; extracellular enzymes; nitrogen cycle; ecosystem function; biodiversity; main study areas peatlands, alpine, arctic and boreal ecosystems;

Emeriti Faculty

Cameron, Guy N.

Professor

851Q Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9740

guy.cameron@uc.edu

ECBR, Nutritional, behavioral and community ecology, primarily with rodents; conservation biology; impact of habitat fragmentation and exotic species on community function

Caruso, John L

Emeritus Faculty, Professor-Adjunct

1400 Crosley Tower

513-556-9700

john.caruso@uc.edu

Developmental biology of higher plants; in vitro propagation and hormone physiology of plants

Fox, Mary Claire

Professor

603A Rieveschl Hall

513-556-1669

mary.fox@uc.edu

teach and coordinate anatomy & physiology labs. The Undergraduate Advisor to Biological Sciences and Environmental Studies majors.

Gist, Daniel H

Emeritus Faculty

832 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9700

daniel.gist@uc.edu

Comparative reproduction: morphology and physiology of the reptilian gonad ,sperm maturation and storage

Huether, Carl A

Emeritus Professor

1603 Crosley Tower

513-556-9700

carl.huether@uc.edu

Human population and demographic genetics: incidence estimates of genetic anomalies (specifically Down syndrome) in human populations, probability aspects of genetic counseling, human genetics education

Kaneshiro, Edna Sayomi

Distinguished Research Professor

720 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9712

edna.kaneshiro@uc.edu

ECBR, Cellular physiology cell biology, and biochemistry; structure and function of free-living, opportunistic and parasitic eukaryotic protists with an emphasis on lipids

Meyer, Ralph R

Emeritus Professor

1603 Crosley Tower

765-337-3559

ralph.meyer@uc.edu

Biochemistry and molecular biology; enzymology, regulation and molecular biology of DNA repair in Escherichia coli; gene amplification

Miller, Michael C

Professor

1401A Crosley Tower

513-675-0293

michael.miller@uc.edu

Aquatic biology and river ecology; nutrients, tracemetals, algae and biocriteria of the Ohio River, Great Miami, Little Miami Rivers and Mill Creek in SW Ohio. Nonpoint source reduction, green infrastructure, mitigation of impervious surfaces, peak flow impacts on urban streams/rivers. Urban ecology. Recent activities are with nonprofits working with water quality in SW Ohio and the Ohio River. 

Mukkada, Antony J

Emeritus Faculty

1601 Crosley Tower

513-556-9720

Biochemistry and molecular biology of intracellular parasitism with special reference to survival strategies of a protozoan parasite, Leishmania donovani

Paquin, Charlotte M

Associate Professor

718 Rieveschl Hall

513-556-9732

charlotte.paquin@uc.edu

Molecular genetics of Saccharomyces cerevisae; the transposable element Ty; gene duplication and amplification

Rogstad, Steven H.

Professor

1601A Crosley Tower

513-556-9744

ECBR, Plant population biology and genetics, ecology, and evolution. Computer-based modeling of population genetics of establishing plant populations.  Tropical rain forest biology.

Shann, Jodi R

Professor
Director of the Environmental Studies Program

731D Rieveschl Hall

513-556-8265

jodi.shann@uc.edu

Environmental Chemistry; Biodegradation and Phytoremediation; Ecological Restoration

Snider, Jerry Allen

Emeritus Faculty

1600 Crosley Tower

513-574-5824

Cryptogamic botany; cytology, taxonomy, ecology and development of bryophytes

Tepperman, Katherine

Professor

833 Rieveschl Hall

216-417-1208

katherine.tepperman@uc.edu

Gold-based drugs, metabolism and toxicity; silver effects on cell differentiation; tissue culture.

Winget, G Douglas

Emeritus Faculty

Rieveschl Hall

513-738-1895

Cellular metabolism and bioenergetics: Photophosphorylation and the enzymes for chloroplast membranes